The Mutual Insurance Companies OmbudService (MICO) assists in the resolution of conflicts between policyholders (customers, insured) and participating property and casualty mutual insurance companies. When a dispute arises between the insurer and the policyholder and that the issue cannot be solved with the help of the company’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer, an independent mediator is appointed with the objective of helping both parties work towards an acceptable solution.

Background

All federally regulated property and casualty insurance companies, i.e. insurers of cars, homes, farms and businesses, are required by law to have a procedure in place for addressing customer complaints and must designate an Ombudsman Liaison Officer within the company with whom the policyholder may discuss his/her concerns.

As well, legislation requires that these insurers be members of an independent organization which deals with complaints that cannot be resolved by their Ombudsman Liaison Officer. Mutual insurers have formed the Mutual Insurance Companies OmbudService whose role is to refer these complaints to independent mediators.

Customer Assistance

The dispute resolution process has been set up to address claims related and insurance coverage interpretation issues.

If you have a problem with respect to a claim related issue or if you have an insurance coverage interpretation issue, the first step is to contact your insurance company’s representative.

If the matter cannot be resolved to your satisfaction, the company representative will initiate the second step by putting you in contact with the insurer’s appointed Ombudsman Liaison Officer. The company’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer will review the situation with you and will subsequently send you a letter explaining the insurer’s final position on the issue.

If you are still not satisfied with your insurance company’s decision, you may proceed with the third step by asking the Mutual Insurance Companies OmbudService (MICO) to arrange a mediation session where an independent mediator will help both parties to work towards an acceptable solution.

Dispute Resolution

To start the mediation process, you must complete a Mediation Registration Form which you will obtain from your insurance company’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer or from MICO at 1-866-231-2602 or 613-789-9630 or that you can complete on-line at www.MutualOmbudService.ca.

Upon receiving your request, if the pre conditions have been met, MICO will ask the ADR Institute of Canada Inc., which MICO has contracted, to appoint a mediator to the case. The mediator will facilitate a 90-minute mediation session between you and your insurance company’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer or his/her representative. The cost of that 90-minute mediation session will be paid entirely by the insurance company.

During the mediation session, the mediator will try to bring the two parties to agree on a solution. After the mediation session, if you and the insurance company still disagree on all or some of the issues, the mediator will prepare a written report with recommendations that are not binding on either party. Should both parties wish to extend the mediation session beyond the mandatory 90 minutes, the additional cost will be divided between the policyholder and the insurer according to a joint decision by the two parties.

After the Mediation

If the mediator’s written report does not bring the two parties to agree on a solution, the policyholder may still proceed with legal actions. MICO will not help in this process.

Do I have to pay for the Mediator?

MICO does not charge for its services. The insurance company pays the mediator’s 90-minute mandated mediation session as well as for the travel and meeting expenses incurred by the mediator. However, the member is responsible for the costs he/she incurs to attend the mediation session.

Who can use MICO?

Any policyholder of a participating mutual insurance company may use the service. MICO deals with complaints about claims related matters or interpretation of policy coverage.

Some matters are beyond the scope of MICO: matters not submitted to the insurance company or that have not yet been considered by the insurer’s Ombudman Liaison Officer; settlement procedures established by legislation; matters that have been, or are currently, before the courts; and cases that have already been dealt with by MICO.

banner

Le Service de conciliation des sociétés mutuelles d’assurance (SCSMA)prête son concours à la résolution de litiges entre les titulaires de polices (clients, assurés) et les sociétés  mutuelles d’assurance participantes.  Quand un conflit survient entre l'assureur et l'assuré et que le problème ne peut pas être résolu avec l'aide de l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman, un médiateur indépendant est nommé avec l'objectif d'aider les deux partis à trouver une solution acceptable.

Toile de fond

Toutes les sociétés d’assurance générale sous juridiction fédérale, c.-à-d. les assureurs de voitures, de résidences, de fermes et d’entreprises sont tenues, en vertu de la loi, de mettre en place une procédure pour le traitement des plaintes de leurs clients, et doivent désigner un agent de liaison à l’ombudsman avec qui les titulaires de police peuvent discuter de leurs préoccupations.

Aussi, la loi exige que chaque société d’assurance générale sous juridiction fédérale soit membre d’un organisme indépendant dont le rôle est de tenter de résoudre les plaintes des clients qui ne peuvent être résolues par la société d’assurance.  Les sociétés mutuelles d’assurance ont formé le SCSMA dont le rôle est de référer ces plaintes à des médiateurs indépendants.

Aide au client

Le processus de résolution des plaintes a été implanté pour traiter les plaintes concernant les réclamations et pour traiter les questions d’interprétation de couverture d’assurance.

Si vous avez un problème au sujet d’une réclamation ou au sujet de la couverture de votre police d’assurance, la première étape à suivre est de communiquer avec le représentant de votre société d’assurance.  

Si le litige ne peut être résolu de façon satisfaisante, le représentant de la société initie la deuxième étape en vous mettant en contact avec l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman qui révise la situation avec vous et envoie par la suite une lettre expliquant la position finale de l’assureur sur la question.

Si vous n’êtes toujours pas satisfait, vous pouvez procéder à la troisième étape en demandant  au SCSMA d’organiser une session de médiation où un médiateur indépendant aide les deux partis à trouver une solution acceptable.

Résolution d’un litige

Pour initier le processus de médiation vous devez remplir un formulaire d’inscription pour médiation que vous obtiendrez auprès de l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman, auprès du SCSMA au 1-866-231-2602 ou au 613-789-9630, ou en complétant le formulaire en ligne à l’adresse www.MutualOmbudService.ca.

Sur réception de votre demande, si les pré-requis ont été satisfaits, le SCSMA demande à ADR Institute of Canada Inc., avec qui le SCSMA a un contrat, d’assigner un médiateur au dossier.  Le médiateur facilite une session de médiation d’une durée de 90 minutes entre vous et l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman ou son représentant.  Le coût de cette session est entièrement défrayé par la société d’assurance.

Pendant la session de médiation, le médiateur aide les deux partis à s’entendre sur une solution.  Après la session de médiation, si vous et votre société d’assurance êtes toujours en désaccord sur la totalité ou une partie de la solution à apporter, le médiateur prépare un rapport écrit avec ses recommandations à caractère non-obligatoire visant à résoudre le litige.  Si les deux partis désirent poursuivre la session de médiation au-delà des 90 minutes statutaires, le coût additionnel sera réparti entre le titulaire de police et l’assureur selon la décision conjointe des deux partis.

Après la médiation

Si le rapport écrit du médiateur n’aide pas les deux partis à s’entendre, le titulaire de police peut alors entreprendre des démarches judiciaires.  Le SCSMA n’apporte pas son soutien à ce processus.

Qui est responsable pour le paiement du médiateur?

Aucun frais s’applique pour les services du SCSMA.  La société d’assurance paie pour la session de médiation de 90 minutes ainsi que pour les frais de transport du médiateur et les frais reliés à la salle de réunion s’il y a lieu.  Vous êtes responsables des frais engagés pour vous présenter à la session de médiation.

Qui peut utiliser les services du SCSMA?

Tous les titulaires de polices des sociétés mutuelles d’assurance participantes peuvent utiliser ce service.   Le SCSMA s’occupe des plaintes concernant des réclamations ou des interprétations de couverture de polices d’assurance.

Certains sujets ne sont pas couverts par le SCSMA :  les plaintes non soumises à la société d’assurance ou qui n’ont pas encore été considérées par son agent de liaison à l’ombudsman; les règlements statutaires de réclamations; les litiges soumis à la considération des tribunaux; et les cas qui ont déjà fait l’objet de la médiation offerte par le SCSMA.

banner