1. What is the mandate and role of MICO?

    The Mutual Insurance Companies OmbudService (MICO) is a component of a dispute resolution process put in place by a number of federally regulated or federally supervised mutual insurance companies. MICO assists insurance companies and their members (policyholders, insured) resolve their differences related to claims and policy coverage when the insurer has not been able to solve the issue to the satisfaction of the policyholder. In such instances, the role of MICO is to ask the ADR Institute of Canada Inc. to appoint an independent mediator with the mandate to set up and facilitate a 90-minute mediation session.

  2. What kind of issues will MICO address?

    MICO’s mandate is limited to addressing claims issues as well as insurance coverage issues.

    Specifically excluded from MICO’s role are issues related to:

    • matters not submitted to the insurance company or that have not yet been considered by the insurer’s appointed Ombudsman Liaison Officer
    • underwriting issues
    • rating issues
    • matters that are before the courts
    • cases that have already been dealt with by MICO

  3. What kind of information does MICO collect?

    With the policyholder’s consent, MICO will collect personal information from the policyholder. MICO will collect contact information for the purpose of identifying the policyholder and being able to establish communications; will collect information to determine if the issue at stake falls within the type of issues for which the dispute resolution process has been put in place; and will collect other information to determine if the issue has been dealt with by the insurer’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer, or has already been dealt with by MICO or if the issue is now before the courts.

  4. What role will the mediator play?

    The mediator will organize a 90-minute mediation session at a date and location convenient for both parties. During the mediation session, he/she will try to get the parties to reach an agreement and will write a report summarizing the content of the agreement reached between the insurer and the policyholder. If the parties do not reach such an agreement during the session, the mediator’s written report will include a non-binding recommendation.

  5. How and when should one make a complaint to MICO?

    First, the policyholder must try to solve the issue directly with the insurance company’s representative. If the policyholder is unable to solve the issue with his/her contact person at the insurance company, the policyholder will be referred to the company’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer who will review the situation with the insured. After this review, the Ombudsman Liaison Officer must send a letter to the insured detailing the company’s final position.

    If the policyholder is still unsatisfied with the insurer’s position, he/she can proceed to mediation - the step that involves MICO. To initiate this process, the insured must complete and sign a Mediation Registration Form made available by the insurer’s Ombudsman Liaison Officer, or by calling MICO at 1-866-231-2602 or (613) 789-9630 or by completing the Mediation Registration Form electronically on MICO’s Web Site at www.MutualOmbudService.ca, form which must then be printed, signed and mailed to MICO. Following reception of the completed form, MICO will ask the ADR Institute of Canada to appoint a mediator with experience in addressing insurance related issues. The appointed mediator will then set up and facilitate a 90-minute mediation session between the policyholder and the insurer.

    If the policyholder and the insurance company reach an agreement, the mediator will write a report providing details of the agreement.

    If, after the mediation session, the policyholder and the insurance company still disagree or fail to resolve all the issues, the mediator will prepare a written report including his/her recommendations. These recommendations are not binding on either party. If the written report does not bring the parties to agree on a solution, the policyholder still has access to the legal system. MICO will not help in this process.

  6. Who is responsible for setting up the mediation session?

    The mediator, after his/her appointment by the ADR Institute of Canada, will communicate with the policyholder and the insurer to determine a convenient date and location for the mediation session and will advise the two parties of the decision.

  7. Who will pay for the mediation session and related costs?

    First, MICO does not charge for its services. The cost for the mediator, i.e. the cost of the 90-minute mediation session, the travel expenses of the mediator and the rental of the facility for the meeting are paid for by the insurance company. However, the policyholder will pay for his/her expenses incurred to attend the mediation session.

banner

1. I. Quel est le mandat et le rôle du SCSMA?

    Le Service de conciliation des sociétés mutuelles d’assurance (SCSMA) est un système indépendant de résolution de plaintes mis en place par un certain nombre de sociétés mutuelles d’assurance générale sous juridiction ou supervision fédérale. Le SCSMA aide les sociétés d’assurance et leurs titulaires de police (clients, assurés) à résoudre leurs différends liés aux réclamations et à la couverture de polices d’assurance quand l'assureur n'a pas pu résoudre le problème à la satisfaction du titulaire de police. Dans de telles circonstances, le rôle du SCSMA est de demander à ADR Institute of Canada Inc. de nommer un médiateur indépendant ayant le mandat d’organiser et de faciliter une session de médiation de 90 minutes.

  2. Le SCSMA prête son support à quel genre de litige?

    Le mandat du SCSMA se limite à prêter son support à la résolution de litiges reliés aux réclamations ou à la couverture de polices d’assurance..

    Les litiges suivants sont spécifiquement exclus du rôle du SCSMA:

    • litiges non soumis à la société d’assurance ou qui n’ont pas encore été considérés par l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman de la société d’assurance
    • litiges liés à la souscription
    • litiges liés à la tarification
    • litiges pour lesquels des démarches judiciaires ont été entreprises
    • litiges déjà traités par le SCSMA

  3. Quel genre d’information recueillez-vous?

    Avec le consentement de l’assuré, le SCSMA recueille de l’assuré des informations personnelles. Le SCSMA rassemble l'information nécessaire afin d'identifier l'assuré et de pouvoir établir des communications; rassemble l'information pour déterminer si le litige est conforme à un des types de litiges pour lesquels le processus de résolution de conflits a été mis en place; et rassemble d’autres renseignements pour déterminer si le litige a été traité par l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman de l'assureur, ou par le SCSMA ou si le dossier est maintenant soumis au système judiciaire.

  4. Quel est le rôle du médiateur?

    Le médiateur organise une session de médiation de 90 minutes à une date et à un endroit convenables et aide les deux partis à en venir à une entente et prépare un rapport décrivant les détails de l’accord obtenu. Par contre, si les deux partis ne peuvent en venir à un accord lors de la session de médiation, le médiateur prépare un rapport écrit décrivant ses recommandations à caractère non-obligatoire.

  5. Comment et quand pouvez-vous faire une demande au SCSMA?

    Premièrement, le titulaire de police doit essayer de résoudre le litige directement avec la société d’assurance. Si le titulaire de police ne parvient pas à résoudre le litige avec la personne en charge de son dossier, il est mis en contact avec l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman. L’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman révise le dossier avec l’assuré. A la fin de ce processus, l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman explique la position finale de l’assureur dans une lettre adressée à l’assuré..

    Si le titulaire de police n’est pas d’accord avec la position finale de l’assureur, il peut aller en médiation – l’étape qui implique le SCSMA. Pour débuter le processus, l’assuré doit compléter et signer le Formulaire d’inscription pour médiation qu’il obtient de l’agent de liaison à l’ombudsman, du SCSMA en composant le 1-866-231-2602 ou le 613-789-9630, ou en complétant le Formulaire d’inscription pour médiation en ligne à l’adresse www.MutualOmbudService.ca. Le formulaire doit ensuite être imprimé, signé et posté au SCSMA. Après réception du formulaire complété et signé, le SCSMA demande au ADR Institute of Canada de nommer un médiateur ayant de l’expérience dans le domaine de l’assurance. Le médiateur désigné organise et facilite une session de médiation de 90 minutes entre le titulaire de police et l’assureur.

    Si l’assuré et la société d’assurance arrivent à un accord, le médiateur produit un rapport écrit décrivant les détails de l’accord.

    Si après la session de médiation le titulaire de police et la société d’assurance ne sont toujours pas d’accord, le médiateur produit un rapport écrit comportant des recommandations à caractère non-obligatoire. Si le rapport écrit n’amène toujours pas les partis à s’entendre, le titulaire de police peut alors entreprendre des démarches judiciaires. Le SCSMA ne s’implique pas à ce stade.

  6. Qui est responsable de l’organisation de la session de médiation?

    Le médiateur, après sa nomination par le ADR Institute of Canada, communique avec le titulaire de police et l’assureur pour fixer une date et un lieu convenables pour la session de médiation et communique sa décision aux deux partis.

  7. Qui paie pour la session de médiation et les frais reliés?

    Premièrement, les services du SCSMA sont gratuits. Les coûts reliés au médiateur, c.à-d., le coût de la session de médiation de 90 minutes, et, le cas échéant, les dépenses de voyage du médiateur et la location d’une salle pour la réunion sont payés par la société d’assurance. Cependant, le titulaire de police doit assumer ses dépenses pour assister à la session de médiation.

banner